Where I am, what I am doing and who I am with. Part 1

I watched this TED talk by Sherry Turkle over Christmas. It is tempting to view it as an attack on all e-channels, SM, sms, email, webcasts, take your pick. I view it as a call for balance and the avoidance of a damaging and dogmatic lurch in favour of all things electronic over choosing to enjoy where we are, what we are doing and who we are with.

It contains the chilling phrase, “Connected but alone”. It is stupendous and helped focus things I have been ruminating on for a while.

 

It relates to conscious choices I am making about how and when to use all electronic forms of communication.

 

I will come back to this topic. The next post is about corporate communications. I realised recently that good communication isn’t just about corporate effectiveness, it is necessary to fulfil responsibilities that managers have for the mental health and well being of their staff. Read the insightful series led by Alison Chisnell at thehrjuggler.wordpress.com for more on that. It’s quite an education.

 

I would love to know what you think. Electronically here, or over a beer if you prefer.

12 thoughts on “Where I am, what I am doing and who I am with. Part 1

  1. I’m sorry but nobody is called Sherry Turkle, especially around Christmas Time. That’s far too close to Sherry Trifle or Sherry Turkey for my liking.

    Anyway, back in the real world, I find it a complete contradiction that Sue Cranberry (or whatever) should be complaining about electronic communications while delivering her message over a form of electronic communication. Clearly she’s loves swimming in irony or she’s just moaning unnecessarily. So, I’m sorry Sharon Geducken, but you get lumped into the same pool alongside all those “I like real books because I like the smell” or “why don’t you ever answer the phone” types.

    I suppose there may be a serious point in there somewhere. Most people who sit around me on my daily commute are engrossed in whatever their Blackberry is telling them they’ve forgotten to do, or playing Angry Birds, or pretending to read the business section on the Times for iPad. Nobody talks to one another and, on the rare occasion they do, they get scowled at because they’re putting people off their Kindles.

    But then I like having lots of ways to interact with people, even if they are electronic (the messages, not the people). I like IM’ing, I like emailing, and I sort of like SMS’ing every bit as much as sitting in a pub talking with real speech to real people. Just promise me one thing: when we meet in the pub when you get back, please let’s not discuss the benefits of SMS over IM, or I’ll MMS you a picture of a rude gesture. Or a turkey, whichever I find first.

    • Hi

      I love it all too. It opens doors, connects me, causes me to learn loads and enjoy things I never expected to. Very often it enables things that otherwise would simply not be possible.

      Often though it is used at the wrong time for the wrong purpose, other times we should turn it off and enjoy what we are doing without the need to provide a running commentary that dilutes our own experience and effectiveness.

      I also do think it causes some people to become disconnected from the reality of where they are and they miss out.

      It’s a balance.

      See you next week.

      Anthony

    • Russell

      All channels are open most of the time and each has its own power. Sometimes though I just turn it all off and enjoy what I am doing.

      I have a photo of a day I was with my family on a train, it was taken with my iphone and is of the rest if us peering into various other smart devices.

      Beer is always an option.

      Anthony

  2. Balance, Flow
    Stay, Play, Go

    Multi-channeled, Electronic
    Maybe beer is just the tonic

    The essence of precious presence
    Presses and stresses us
    Stretches and threatens our tendons
    Obsessed about sessions
    And seventh heavens

    Just Walk with me
    Talk with me

    Balance, Flow
    Stay, Play, Go

Leave a Reply

