Where I Am, What I Am Doing and Who I Am With – Part 3 Talking to Myself

Like the other posts in this little flurry, this is really a call for balance in how we use electronic communications, including social media.

I have met a lot of interesting people and made a couple of new friends through online collaboration inside and outside the corporate firewall. I learned some skills and simple truths about connecting people that have had truly amazing results.

However, I noticed that I had developed a slight tendency towards black and white group think. I had to some extent stopped talking to myself, at least in a critical, independently minded way.

I also noticed I became tempted to connect to others for the sake of it, rather than with purpose. There is a little endorphin rush when someone replies, likes, follows, retweets or favourites something. It is addictive and led to my not always engaging in the moment.

I broke the habit and try to connect only when I have some purpose that is greater than one I can fulfil through where I am, what I am doing and who I am with. Sometimes that’s just breathing in and out.

It is a balance. Connected collaboration is an awesome way of getting things done. Independent thought is often the root of radical innovation.

I am trying to do both, and turn it all off now and then to give my full attention to who I am with, including myself.

The next post is about tweeting at events, which I do less than I used to.

3 thoughts on “Where I Am, What I Am Doing and Who I Am With – Part 3 Talking to Myself

  1. I read an article recently – can’t recall where – which was discussing the whole linking / following / liking phenomenon. It tried to boil it down to a simple human trait of wanting to be sociable. There’s definitely something in that, but given not everyone in the world, who can be, is on Facebook then clearly they must be getting their sociable kicks elsewhere. Which goes to show you, it doesn’t need to be electronic to work.

    There’s a debate going on in my office right now about the use of Jive. We’re using it for a series of focus groups and, in a recent review, one person observed that people are not collaborating as often as they would have expected on Jive. MY comment back was to ask whether they’re still collaborating, but just not using Jive, or whether they’re not collaborating at all. I suggested it was almost certainly the latter.

    So to your point about independent thought and the use of connected collaboration, I think it is a balance. Some people like to meet and talk face to face using the power of speech, and other like to tweet, ping, follow, pin and share using one of a plethora of electronic means. In both cases, there’s clearly a need or desire that is being met in doing so, otherwise people would not do it. If people get kicks from having a gazillion followers on Twitter and wallow in the thought that their every word is hung onto by a gaggle of faceless and nameless monikers that they’ll never meet, then good luck to them. Not exactly my idea of collaboration, but there you go.

    Must dash – need to tweet my latest Instagram pin on LinkedIn.

    • Hi

      Just wrenched myself of RM and Chatter to reply.

      I suspect our natural sociability is rewarded by that rush which reinforces the behaviour. Generally it’s a good thing. I spent today connecting people round the world, making and stoking those loops. The results were instantly fabulous, 8 who’ve never met, helping one colleague who was momentarily overloaded.

      My challenge these days is, say when I need to just do something, like write a report, to turn it off and get through it. I am getting better.

      Cheers (which reminds me…)

      Anthony

Leave a Reply

